MIYAKOWASURE

We call this flower "Miyakowasure."

この花は「都忘れ」です。

 

It belongs to the same family as chrysanthemum

キク科に属し

 

and blooms in spring and early summer exceptionally.

 例外的に春から初夏にかけて咲きます。

 

Some say that it was Juntoku emperor who named the flower.

順徳天皇が名付けたとも言われています。

 

He tried to overthrow the Kamakura shogunate in 1221.

順徳天皇は1221年、鎌倉幕府を倒幕しようとしましたが

 

But he failed and was exiled to the island of Sado.

破れ、佐渡ヶ島に流されました。

 

He always thought of the Kyoto called miyako.

順徳天皇はいつも京のみやこに思いを馳せていました。

 

One day he found this flower

ある日天皇はこの花をみつけました。

 

beautiful enough to forget miyako.

それは都を忘れてしまうほど美しいものでした。